TENSAS BASIN LEVEE DISTRICT REGULAR MEETING



Board of Commissioners Tuesday, February 08, 2022 at 9:30 AM 505 District Drive Monroe, LA

MINUTES

In compliance with the Americans With Disabilities Act, individuals needing special accommodations / during this meeting should notify the Tensas Basin Levee District Board of Commissioners at 318-323-1130 at least three working days before the meeting.

Call to Order

Roll Call

Mr. Drew Keahey, President, called the meeting to order and requested the Secretary call roll with the following present and answering:

PRESENT

Commissioner Mike Calloway

Commissioner Johnny Turner

Commissioner Ashley Peters

Commissioner Antwain Downs

President Drew Keahey

Vice President Rodney Hutchins

Commissioner Kenneth Wilson

Commissioner Dick Zeagler

Commissioner Robert Neal Harwell

Commissioner Michelle Collum

ABSENT

Commissioner Dustin Morris

Others in attendance were: Ms. Susan Douglas, DOTD; Mr. Dylan McIntosh, DOTD; Mr. Michael Street, Attorney, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. John Stringer, Executive Director, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Justin Holloway, Maintenance Supervisor, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Brandon Waggoner, Assistant Director, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Matt Varnell, Maintenance Supervisor, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Jason McMillan, Levee District Police.

Prayer

Pledge of Allegiance

President Drew Keahey opened the meeting with prayer followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Public Comment on Agenda Items

Action

Motion made by Commissioner Peters, Seconded by Commissioner Downs and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby declare that the reading of the minutes of the regular meeting of January, 2022 is hereby dispensed with and declared approved as published in the official journal of this board, The Richland Beacon News.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Motion made by Commissioner Peters, Seconded by Commissioner Zeagler and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve all bills approved by the claims committee for January 2022.

Motion made by Vice President Hutchins, Seconded by Commissioner Harwell and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District advertised for surface leasing for five year period for hunting purposes the following:

RICHLAND PARISH: Section 15 & 22, Township 14 North Range 9 East, containing 161.16 acres more or less.

WHEREAS, the time having arrived for the opening of bids, the following bids were received, opened and read aloud:

Mr. Addison Thompson, Rayville, LA bid \$30.00 per acre per year for a five year period Mr. OPaul Whitaker, Winnsboro, LA bid \$17.00 per acre per year for a five year period

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby accept that certain bid of Mr. Addison Thompson for \$30.00 per acre per year for a five year period.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Motion made by Commissioner Turner, Seconded by Commissioner Calloway and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District has requested proposals for Wetland Mitigation Bank for Lee Lane Levee Relocation Project in Caldwell Parish.

WHEREAS, the following banks submitted packets for consideration: Sicily Island Mitigation Bank and Black Bayou Mitigation Bank.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby ratify and approve the selection of the Wetland Mitigation Bank for Lee Lane Levee Relocation Project in Ouachita Parish was selected by the selection committee consisting of John Stinger and Randy Denmon, being Black Bayou Mitigation Bank.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Requests

Motion made by Vice President Hutchins, Seconded by Commissioner Zeagler and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby authorize the transfer of a campsite #JB-1 from Jimmy Belgard to David Rutherford.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Motion made by Vice President Hutchins, Seconded by Commissioner Harwell and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District did authorize the Tensas Basin Levee District to renew the contract with Attorney W. Michael Street for one year.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Presentations

Items for Discussion

Update on Levee Projects

Brandon Waggoner gave updates on levee projects. Lee Lane Relocation project will be up for bid and the Logtown School property should be closing this month.

Financial Statements

Public Comment

Adjourn